Fanad Head

Standing between idyllic Lough Swilly  and sandy Mulroy Bay, Fanad Head Lighthouse has been voted one of the  most beautiful lighthouses in the world.

Its location within the Donegal Gaeltacht (an Irish speaking area), on the eastern shore of the Fanad Peninsula, is truly breathtaking. No wonder it’s a highlight of the Wild Atlantic Way.

Give yourself plenty of time here. Time to take in the spectacular scenery. To explore the wild and wonderful natural world around you: the area is regularly visited by whales, porpoises and dolphins. To learn more about Fanad Head lighthouse and this very special area in the small Visitor Centre at the lighthouse. Or really take time out and enjoy  a stay far away from it all in one of the lightkeepers’ houses.


A quick history 
  • Following the shipwreck of the HMS Saldanha in the waters of Lough Swilly in 1812, a lighthouse was proposed for Fanad Head.
  • The lighthouse was designed by one of the foremost civil engineers of the time, George Halpin and first lit on 17th March 1817. Its fixed light showed red to sea and white towards the Lough, and could be seen for fourteen miles (22 kilometres) in clear weather.
  • The lighthouse was converted to electric operation in 1975.
  • The lighthouse was automated in 1983.


Did you know?
  • The only survivor of the HMS Saldanha tragedy was the vessel’s parrot, which bore a silver collar inscribed with the ship’s name.
  • Lough Swilly is one of Ireland’s very few glacial fjords.
  • In 1917 the SS Laurentic, one of the most technologically advanced ships in the British navy, hit two mines just at the entrance to Lough Swilly. The ship quickly sank with the loss of over 300 lives. Her secret cargo of 3211 gold bars worth £5 million (or over €410 million today) was also lost. In the right sea conditions, you can dive to the wreck of the SS Laurentic. 22 of those gold bars are still missing…
  • Fanad Head Lighthouse is classified as a sea light, not a harbour light, despite it marking the entrance into Lough Swilly which is a natural harbour of refuge.
  • It is one of 70 lighthouses operated by the Commissioners of Irish Lights around the coast of Ireland and continues to provide a vital role in maritime safety today.
Image Credits: © Andy Mc Inroy  © Raymond Fogarty


Accommodation and Booking Information


Araheera, Portsalon, Co Donegal


House One: Sleeps 4
House Two: Sleeps 2 - 4
House Three: Sleeps 2


Visitor Booking Information


Open 7 days a week from April to October.
Opening times:
April to May: 11am - 5pm
June to August: 9:30am - 5.30pm
September to October: 11am - 5pm.
Tours are every half hour, pre-booking only for groups of 15+. Please book at:


PLEASE NOTE: Children must be 1.2m to climb the tower
Adults €8
Children / Concession €5
Family €20 (2 adults and 2 children)
Tours bookable in advance


Contact Number:

+353 (0)83 809 1199




Explore the Great Lighthouses