St John’s Point
It’s quite a thrill driving down to St. John’s Point Lighthouse, to see it looming at the end of one of the longest peninsulas in Ireland.
Kilometres from anywhere, a stay at St. John’s Point Lighthouse offers a one-of-a-kind getaway. Enjoy a stay in one of the two characterful lightkeepers’ cottages (Clipper and Schooner) managed by Irish Landmark Trust and experience the delights of wild and wonderful Donegal.
Discover the pretty, almost pink, sands of Coral Beach. Breathe in that invigorating salty sea air. Take in the fantastic views across Donegal Bay and towards Sligo, Mayo and far beyond, and see some of the clearest waters in Europe.
A quick history
- The merchants and traders of Killybegs requested a light on St. John’s Point in 1825.
- Made of cut granite, the lighthouse’s tower was designed by George Halpin Senior, one of the era’s most lauded civil engineers.
- The lighthouse came into operation in 1831.
- The lighthouse was automated in November 1932, and converted to electric operation 30 years later.
Did you know?
- St John’s Point is a harbour light. It guides from Donegal Bay and marks the north side of the bay leading to Killybegs Harbour, from the entrance up to Rotten Island.
- In 1588 violent storms drove the Spanish Armada off course to the west of Ireland. Up to 24 of its ships were wrecked, including three huge ships which were wrecked on nearby Streedagh Strand.
- It is one of 65 lighthouses operated by the Commissioners of Irish Lights around the coast of Ireland and continues to provide a vital role in maritime safety today.